What made you turn to writing? I get that question A LOT! And even in this day and age, it seems that no matter what you are passionate about, you can’t please everyone. Even in the midst of chaos and static, follow your dreams!

Here is the magical story that made me be the writer that I want to be.

Starting from the not-so-beginning, I started community college when I was 21, and that was back in 2010. My youngest was a month old, and I wanted to do something other than work in a local movie theater the rest of my life. I began taking the basic math and English courses to get me up to par, and as I progressed in those classes, I began to wonder what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

Money talks.

First, it was medical coding and billing. Then receptionist work, then a medical assistant. I then moved to a CNA by the end of my second quarter, LPN and finally, the well-paid and under-respected RN by the end of that same quarter. When I set sights on an L&D (labor and delivery) RN, I was money hungry. I didn’t want to be on food stamps anymore, ask for money because I needed gas so that I could get to school. I wanted to be self-sufficient.

I chugged for the following few quarters.

A year-and-a-half into the program, I was losing momentum. I was pondering when I was going forth with enrollment, debating the chemistry 250 and 251, and Biology 235, along with the dosage calculations course I was still in dire need to take. Blah. At this phase of the process, it was December 2011, I had just finished my finals and had not enrolled for winter quarter. Double blah.

From December to August 2012 was the longest time of my life – feeling drained, lost and tired, my passion for learning was gone. I didn’t like the idea of doing anything and felt like I wanted to sleep for days. I couldn’t find that one thing that made me excited to get up in the morning. What was it?

Thanks, HBO (and Andy Sorkin) for creating The Newsroom in May/June 2012. I found a niche, and it got me thinking about the future for the first time in a very long time.

Within the same period, a friend of mine was telling me about Ashford University and how she loved the enrollment process, the professors and she even recommended it. AHA!

uthmag-com_

They have a B.A. in Journalism/Mass Communications? (Thanks again HBO and Andy Sorkin for mashing journalism into my mind).

I thought about it, prayed about it even (not religious, even a little), and talked to my husband about our plans. From the first phone call, it took one week to file FAFSA, enroll, ask questions and begin my first class. I felt like a million bucks. I was passionate again. I started working on something that I was immensely proud of. I even began volunteering for an online entertainment publication – video games, film, and T.V. – and found that it was something that I really enjoyed.

In the midst of my sophomore/junior year – early 2014 – I double majored. English and Journalism/Mass Communications would be the end point that I was working so hard for.

August 2015, I have doubled up on courses where I could, built an extensive resume with writing, blogging, AND started my final semester at Ashford. It was there at my fingertips. I felt invincible. That November, I graduated with honors in English and Journalism/Mass Communications degrees. TA-DA!

Present day I write a lot, and I often read, hoping it will help build me as a writer and a teacher. Potentially a published author, I dream of what these magical words will become one day. I wonder if the effect one teacher had on me will bleed onto another, turning into a chain of events over several generations?

Instead of all the blabbering, I feel that finding my passion is where I began writing. I enjoy wordsmithing, pondering the masses of words as they come across my screens. The visions in my head that prance around don’t leave until I have them down on paper. I find it hard to not write. Had I gone forward and gone after the money, I would be miserable.

Go for your dreams and don’t let anyone tell you no. It may hurt, but it can be a gut instinct. Listen to it!

Lead photo courtesy of http://themindunleashed.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/luciddd.png

Leave a Reply

