I haven’t been writing like I normally do. Truth is I have been on quite a ride since the end of October. I am finding my way and slowly getting back on track.

But nonetheless, I wrote today. I wrote about 2700 words to a new story that has been in the back of my mind, mulling about and growing into something that could be a second romance novel.

It’s based in Seattle, of course, simply because it’s my homeport. I love reading books and they mention Seattle, or an outlying area nearby. It could be Walla Walla or Yakima for all I care. I was born and raised in Washington State. Rawr!

I haven’t gotten to far into the specifics, but I have already introduced a conflict or a terror of a person, which seems REALLY soon. But I’m not to worried since there will be edits upon more edits to be made. I could add something prior or do some massive deleting when the time comes.

As for the other book I have, I haven’t touched it. I think I am at a point where I feel stuck and I don’t know what to do with it. Is there something you writers would recommend for moving forward? Should I delete an entire chapter? Should I move to the next available page and write something fresh and make the edits later? I feel like I moved into a direction that should be at the end of the story. Maybe I could go back and add some more chapters in the middle somewhere?

I would love advice!

“A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen sums it up well. Perhaps women are in a phase where we go from liking, to loving to marriage in a heartbeat. I look at my personal relationship with my husband and even after 11 years together, I get butterflies. Our life gets hectic but I am always drawn to how we met, how we fell in love. I want to create stories such as those for other hopeless romantics.

 

Leave a Reply

